NaPoWriMo XX – Backing Out

by krstaten

I’m a little bit bummed to say it, but I won’t be completing NaPoWriMo this year.

I had a lot of fun with it this year. I do feel I did what I set out to do, which was to experiment with new writing styles and learn new things by sticking to the NaPoWriMo.net daily prompt (even when it felt like something I wouldn’t be able to do).

But the last week or so I haven’t really felt I was experimenting or learning anything new. I’ve been really burnt out, and NaPoWriMo felt like an obligation looming over me all day rather than something I was excited to do like when it first started. And as a result I started churning out poems I didn’t like at all, for the sake of having written something for the day.

Which would be fine if my only goal had been to show that I could complete NaPoWriMo, but I did that last year. I KNOW I am capable of pushing myself to finish. I don’t want to make myself dread writing each day for the sake of churning out a poem I didn’t learn anything from.

So I feel no guilt in saying I’m backing out of NaPoWriMo this year. I made it most of the way through the month, and I did some things I can be proud of. On May 1, when I’ve had the chance to review my month’s work, I’ll still write up a month in review about some of the highlights of NaPoWriMo. In the meantime, I’ll let myself take it easy the rest of this month.

