NaPoWriMo 19 – Creation

by krstaten

In the beginning,
there was us.
Of course, so much
came before us–
explosions, formations,
everything being made
and everything moving away
from everything else,
a million other planets,
maybe, that created life first–
only we are at the beginning
of all of our stories,
so in the beginning
there was us,
exactly as we are now,
and we created so much
in our own image,
not least of which every god
who was ever supposed
to have made us.

***

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write about a creation myth. Again I’m not thrilled with how it came out and I’m gonna be taking it pretty easy (i.e. maybe not doing a daily recommendation for a little while or writing very short off-prompt poems) while I assess whether I want to finish NaPoWriMo. This is about when the burnout happened last year and I pushed through it, but I don’t want to keep on writing poems I’m not happy with and not learning anything from, which seems to be happening more the last few days. We’ll see, though. I’ll do my best to get myself back on track to finish, but regardless, I’ve already done a lot of what I set out to do and I can be proud of that.

