NaPoWriMo 9 – The Fox

by krstaten

A red fox slinks across the lawn, his coat
a matted, fluffy mess, his body lean
and confident, with eyes that seem to gloat–

trots swiftly off the safety of the grass,
a bold, determined face and careless mien,
just as a rusted pick-up comes to pass–

the truck neglects to swerve, although it could,
the fox still never flinches at the scene–
it steels its stare and trots into the wood.

***

Boy today was tough. I am not used to writing in strict form! I’m still not sure how I feel about the last stanza. I feel like it’s skipping information for the sake of fitting form.

Today’s prompt at NaPoWriMo.net was to write a poem nine lines long, with a list of nine-line forms to try. I chose the Nocturna.

Today’s first recommendation is “And Then It Was Less Bleak Because We Said So” by Wendy Xu. I recommended it last year but it’s one of my all-time favorites that I keep going back to and I wanted to share it again.

And today’s recommendation of a fellow NaPoWriMo participant is this Day 9 poem by grapeling.

Happy NaPoWriMo-ing!