NaPoWriMo 2017 Upcoming!

by krstaten

pexels-photo-217661

We are exactly one week away from the beginning of this year’s NaPoWriMo!

Last year was my second attempt at NaPoWriMo, and my first attempt that was actually successful. And I learned so much more than I thought I would.

I went into NaPoWriMo expecting that the main thing I’d learn would be what makes a poem flow for me. I thought by forcing myself to write every day, even when I’m not inspired enough for the poem to just pour out, I’d get a better sense of my own writing process, of what makes the poem seem to pour, how the voice of each poem is shaped, etc.

I did, but more so, I learned about the importance of prompts. I found some of my best writing came from prompts. When I sought my own inspiration, I tended to go to the same sources and write in similar styles. I was used to thinking about writing and creativity in a certain way at that point. But prompts pushed me to think more about how an idea forms, and how to experiment.

So that’s my goal this year: Lower my expectations, and experiment. National (Novel/Poetry) writing month is about quantity, so we don’t expect quality anyway, right? You could argue that, due to the specific and meticulous nature of poetry, this defeats the purpose, but I learned so much last year. So if I’m going to write badly anyway, I may as well go all out and write badly in ways I’ve never written before.

A new adventure awaits!

You can view last year’s NaPoWriMo poems at my NaPoWriMo2016 tag HERE.

This year I’ll once again be keeping an eye on NaPoWriMo.net for inspiration, ideas, and community. Also, like last year, I’ll be posting a poem I love every day, but I think this year each time I respond to a prompt from the NaPoWriMo site, I’ll also share a poem or two by a fellow participant for that prompt.

If you’re participating in NaPoWriMo, comment below with a link to where you’re posting your poems so I can follow along with you!

