National Poetry Writing Month

by krstaten

poetry-720609_960_720

I was going to wait a little while on posting this, until later in the month, but I realized that if some people want to participate it might be nice to give them more than a couple days’ heads up.

April 1, two weeks from tomorrow, begins National Poetry Writing Month! It’s a challenge similar to NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) in November, except instead of pushing for a novel or a word count, the goal is to write a poem every single day in April.

It may sound easy for prolific writers, but for those of us who sometimes struggle to get the poem on the page, it’s pretty tricky.

I’ll be following napowrimo.net, where in the past they’ve posted featured participants and poems, resources, and poetry prompts most days of the challenge.

So this is just a quick post to let everyone know that this is a challenge I’ll be participating in, and if anyone wants to join me, leave a comment and let me know so I can keep an eye on your blog throughout next month!

I haven’t yet decided whether I want to post every poem I write this month so everyone can see the wide range of (sometimes quite frankly terrible) poetry I write when I push myself to a deadline, or whether I’d rather just use the challenge as personal motivation and post the ones that turn out decently. We’ll see, I guess, or if you have a preference, let me know in the comments!

